Shirley Taylor wrote in “About bweBaptistwomenfor equality.wordpress.com“:

“I don’t want to preach.  I don’t want to serve communion as a deacon.

Tomorrow we come together to reinforce what we already know about women’s equality in the church.

I just want to be able to walk into my church and not feel that my church holds it against me that I am a woman.”

The question here is; “are not all worshippers equal? I answered Shirley’s blog with; “Read Galatians 3:26 – 4:3.”  Where the equality of believers in Christ [and His Word] are taught that all who believe in Christ Jesus are partakers of the Promise; that is, they all share the same Salvation as believers.  However, the selfsame Christ Jesus teaches us in the Gospel that He will not recognise those who who do not do the will of the Father; Matthew 7:21-23.

In my Parish, women are equal as worshippers, they do not sit on one side only of the aisle, they do share in the responsibilities of being greeters and stewards, our Chair and Secretary positions are held by capable women in both Congregations in our Parish, as are many other positions of note.

As to preaching and serving Holy Communion, no man or woman other than our Pastor, administers the Sacraments or preaches.  Even our Pastor’s Aide – a highly qualified person in theology and Biblical Studies, and willing to be ordained – may only read a sermon prepared by the Pastor and that only in the emergency where an ordained Pastor is not available.  But many are called but few are chosen.

Shirley further comments that she is not sure what I am saying in my answer; however, I think that I have been clear enough in past responses to her blog [which see] for her to understand that I prefer to base my writings on the Scriptures rather than secular practices or warm feelings about what some denomination practice now.  I refer again to Matthew 7:21-23, and also to the Divine Selection Criteria in 1 Timothy 3 and in Titus 1;  where the gender of the spiritual leader of a Parish or Congregation is clearly prescribed.

I have been asked; “What about Jesus?”  Yes, I have seen my Lord in more than one theophany, and His Word is the same now as it was then to me and is now for all who love Him and obey His Word.

To those who do not know me, I am a Lutheran, and according to Lutheran Doctrine, “We believe, teach and confess that the prophetic and apostolic writings of the Old and the New Testaments are the only rule and norm according to which all doctrines and teachers alike must be appraised and judged.” The Book of Concord, Formula of Concord, Part 1 Epitome, 1.

Barney

 

 

 

bWe Baptist Women for Equality's Blog

I don’t want to preach.  I don’t want to serve communion as a deacon. 

Tomorrow we come together to reinforce what we already know about women’s equality in the church.

I just want to be able to walk into my church and not feel that my church holds it against me that I am a woman.

If you want the same thing, pray for us. Pray for this message to be so compelling to those of us who have gathered together, that it will not stop when the last song is sung.

Pray for us.

View original post

